Coffee vs Green Tea

green-tea-vs-coffee

While most university students are hard core coffee drinkers, I tend to be sipping on all kinds of tea especially green tea. You will usually see me holding my favourite cup of green tea while walking into class first thing in the morning.

Camellia sinensis is popularly known as Green tea. In my opinion, this plant has an acquired taste to it because even when I tasted it at first, it tasted kind of unpleasant. But I guess you can say the same thing for coffee or the coffee bean plant Coffea arabica as well. I once had an experience of tasting coffee and it was so bitter that I did not want to drink it ever again. I guess that’s why people add lots of milk and sugar into theirs.

Apparently coffee increases your focus by allowing you to stay up all night so you could study or finish that essay on time by its deadline. Coffee contains caffeine that is a psychoactive drug and a stimulant acting on the central nervous system. Green tea is also a stimulant that contains caffeine and perhaps is the better alternative of the two due to its variety of health benefits such as lowering the risk of cancer and improving brain function (which can actually make you smarter rather than you staying up all night with that cup of coffee).

In the end, does it really matter what you drink? I personally believe so! Go for green tea because not only will you love drinking it (once you are used to it) but you will receive all of the health benefits that come with drinking it!

Some more health benefits with drinking green tea: https://authoritynutrition.com/top-10-evidence-based-health-benefits-of-green-tea/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment