How speaking 4 languages helped me throught out life (and this summer)

Salut tous le monde, my name is Mohammad  and I come from a small island called Mauritius, located in the Indian Ocean. Speaking French and Creole as my native tongue since a young age, I can be considered to be a Francophone. At school, we were taught English since elementary school and coming to Canada significantly enhanced my english-speaking ability. I picked up Hindi by watching Hindi movies since as kid. Hence, I can speak 4 languages fluently: French, English, Creole and Hindi, making me a polyglot.

This allowed me to interact with more individuals than I could ever imagined. It was possible for me to live in Nantes, France for 1 year without any problem. As a volunteer at the Toronto General Hospital this summer, I could interact with more patients and visitors than my friends could. I could go for opportunities that many people could not. To summarize, I was less limited by language barriers.

It is hypothesized that people who speak different languages think differently when speaking a certain language at one time. For example, when speaking English, one would think a bit differently compared to when the same individual would speak French. This is definitely true as I often find myself thinking of many more possibilities when I even think of situations or problems in other languages.

Now, I just have to think of ways to use this ‘small polyglot ability’ in Biology and the science field!
Au Revoir

Mohammad Arshad Imrit

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How speaking 4 languages helped me throught out life (and this summer)

Leave a Reply

