Thanks Narcity: Sauble Beach Adventures

One facebook post. 175.6 km. 2 hours and 15 minutes later. My Sauble Beach adventures began.

Typically after springs exams are over, I spend most of my time making a “20XX Summer Bucketlist” with about 10-15 things I have to complete before school starts. I had already made a list, but it had the “typical” things, I wanted something more exciting to make up for not being able to go on a Caribbean vacation. So I looked to re-vamp my list.

Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 6.54.41 PM.png

Actual screenshot of my Bucketlist.

Getting bored of my list decided to go on Facebook. The first thing to show up on my news feed was “14 Surreal Places in Ontario You Won’t Believe Really Exist“.

Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 6.57.46 PM.png

Screenshot of Narcity article

Immediately looked more into Bruce Peninsula – Sauble Beach. I just had to go now! This was the ultimate must for my “2016 Summer”. Called the crew and set a date. On July 18, 2016 at 7:30am, 18 of us set-out on our Sauble Beach adventure and of course all phones were charged to catch Pokemons on the way – no I’m not ashamed. The drive was fantastic, except for the lack of pokemons by the time we reached Orangeville, only Drowses. Almost everyone falling asleep on the way there, but I couldn’t, the views were so amazing. The picturesque forestry was so fanscinating and the small towns we passed through were so quaint. The wind turbine farms in Ferndale, Ontario, was one of my favourite part of the trip. It was over 10 kilometres stretch of wind turbines. For me it was so interesting to see so many wind turbines in “real life” vs in a textbook or on the internet. 

ferndale1

Ferndale, Ontario- Wind Farm. Source: PLY Energy

 

2 hours and 15 minutes later, traffic… who would have known?! I didn’t even think so many people would be at Sauble Beach, but I was so untroubled because the view when you approach the beach was amazing and the air was so refreshing. Everything looked just like the Google images – I guess Google images, don’t lie. Although parking was $20 – UGH- we managed to get a good spot, unloaded our stuff and my adventure began.

The water was so beautiful and clean, compared to Wasaga Beach. Although the water was very cold, that did not stop me or anyone else I dragged along with me. The water was so clear it reminded me of beaches in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. Well maybe, that was a slight exaggeration, but it was very close to it. The day was well spent and was very enjoyable, racing on the beach, flying a kite and having endlessly BBQ chicken. Exploring the town of “South Bruce Peninsula” was really exciting, the little shops were quaint and the people loved talking about the development of the area and nearby forests and trails for nature lovers.

After spending a full-day at Bruce Peninsula, my personal rating, compared to Wasaga Beach and Toronto Island Beach; 

Cleanliness: 9/10

Parking Cost: 5/10 – like $20 is a lot of money

Water quality: 8.5/10

Amenities: 7/10

Overall: 8/10

Sauble beach and Bruce Peninsula is definitely on the list of the most surreal places in Ontario, in my opinion, I would definitely recommend you getting some friends or family and plan a road trip. I loved it so much, we ended up going back 3 weeks later to explore more. Happy Adventures 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

