True North, Strong and Free

This summer, I had the great pleasure of visiting our nation’s capital, the city of Ottawa. Ottawa has always been a city comprised of history, culture and of course Beaver Tails! Being born in Canada, sometimes I feel we often forget our roots, our culture and more so, the appreciation towards how lucky we are to being living such a great country we call “home”.  However, I am more than happy to say how much Ottawa has changed my perspective on Canada (for the better, of course) and more than anything, appreciate the true meaning behind what it really means to be Canadian.

Ottawa, surprisingly, was much more quieter than Toronto. The so called “morning rush” was never to be seen in this city. That is probably due to the fact, that majority of downtown Ottawa is VERY accessible. Commuting around Ottawa often involves walking distances of a maximum of 15 minutes. So those daily pushing, shoving and never find a seat encountered on TTC buses is probably not an issue for Ottawa locals.

My trip lasted for five days but, boy, did time fly by. As much as I want to go into detail on my itinerary, I’m going to try to keep this blog post concise.

For those of you who haven’t been to Ottawa, Ottawa has tons of great museums, art galleries and tours that keep the city both vibrant and engaging all at the same time. Trust me, there won’t be a day where you don’t learn something new about Canada or the city in general.

From all the places that I did end up visiting, my top five places I would recommend any  one to visit would definitely be:

  1. Museum of Nature
  2. Parliament Hill
  3. National War Museum
  4. National Art Gallery
  5. Museum of History

Here are some pictures from my trip. I hope I have inspired you to visit our nation’s capital and have a blast just like I did .

P.S. When in Ottawa, make sure to check out the Northern Lights show. It takes place on Parliament Hill and consists of a 30 min show with visual presentation of Canadian history on the Parliament buildings itself. (Check the picture below !!)

fullsizerender-2 fullsizerender-3 fullsizerender-4 fullsizerender  img_1664 img_2009 img_2010

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

