Backyard Gardening

This summer, I spent my leisure time gardening in my backyard. Instead of just buying seeds or seedlings, I decided to save seeds from my own vegetables, dry them and plant those instead. I also took the approach to germinate the seeds in a closed, moist sandwich bag before planting them in the soil. This way, the seeds germinated much more quickly and I was able to see which seeds were viable. The vegetables that I planted are tomatoes, potatoes,  and bell peppers. I also planted fruits such as cantaloupe, dates and strawberries and legumes such as beans. All the plants sprouted and grew but the dates didn’t grow after a while (because I forget to water them) and the strawberry plants were too fragile and thin against the winds.

Because I started to spend an enormous amount of time planting and had many left over seeds, I wanted to be able to share them with fellow gardeners who would also be interested in planting. This is when I came across Seed Libraries here in Toronto! And better yet, there is actually a seed library at York University, run by a club called Regenesis. A seed library stores many different seeds which people donate, and allows individuals to take as many seeds as they would need for backyard gardening. I think this is a great initiative to allow individuals to contribute to their community and to also promote gardening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Backyard Gardening

  1. wmajeed says:

    Oh cool… I didn’t even know that there’s something as a seed library!

    Like

Leave a Reply

